1st time Rotti owner with a couple questions: Special for Rottweilers visitors: FREE Shipping on Dog Food (USA Only)! at Petflow.com. Orders $49+
+ Reply to Thread

Thread: 1st time Rotti owner with a couple questions:

1st time Rotti owner with a couple questions:

Hey all,
    I just found this page and Im really excited there is a place for questions and feedback! I have been a vet tech for over a decade, a dog owner, and worked with rescue dogs, but I am new to actually owning a Rotti! (My last dog was a rescue boston terrier I had for 15 years- so this is definitely a different experience!) I have always been a big dog person and excited to have "Hulk"- hes 9 months and 102#- but I do have some questions.
    1. Anyone deal with Marking? When did it start/stop? Did you neuter? Did it help?
    2. How big did your rotti get weight wise? (Just curious =)
    3. Dealing with destructive tendencies- what else helps besides exercise? We walk/run about 3 miles a day broken into 2 walks and go to the dog park once or twice a week- and he actively looks for things to destroy. Yesterday he dug up and chewed through the wiring that powers my garage in about 3 minutes when we got back from a run while i was outside with him. (No idea how he didnt get electrocuted) Hes chewed the walls, chairs, carpeting on the stairs etc. Im home all day so it shouldnt be an anxiety thing- he's not crated, hes usually wherever around me or around the house/kids, hes no longer loosing puppy teeth as far as I can tell, hes got hard bones and toys around and gets a new chew every few days. Like, what the heck pup. Ideas?
    Thanks all! Looking forward to learning from this group. = )

2. Remove Advertisements
    RottWeilersOnline.com
    Advertisements

I don't have a PB Rottie, so can't speak to size - but, marking: