• 180+

Votes: 0 0.0%
1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,
Ive heard so many people claiming what sounds to me as very unsubstantiated weights for their rotti's or past pups. People seem to be obsessed with the weight of a Rottweiler and I feel like the hype causes people to over feed and/or over breed to achieve these unrealistic expectations of what a "huge" rotti is. When I take my guy to dog parks, 90% of the time I will hear "I used to have a huge Rotti! He weighed ____!!!" and almost every time, its 150, 160, or 180 pounds. (Im literally keeping track. I have 7 for 150, 4 for 160, and 2 for 180. No one has ever said to me "I had a huge rotti- he was 110 pounds!') When I was a vet tech for 10 years, (and granted, this was a decade ago) but, I never once met a 150# rottweiler and working in internal medicine and cancer treatment- sadly I saw a lot of Rottis. So my question is- did rottis get much larger over the last decade or do people just love to exaggerate their rotti's size? Id love to do a poll to see what the trends are- but it has to be honest. So please, if you have a 140, 150....180 pound rotti you want to share about, please be prepared to offer some proof ; ) My dog is taking his therapy certification soon and we plan on visiting a lot of people and places, I would love to be able to educate about the breed as we go, but if my info is outdated, Id love to get the facts right! = )

·
Super Moderator
1,320 Posts