Rottweilers Online Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Okay i have been feeding duke on blue buffalo for probably 5 months now and he is starting to get little sores, or scabs right above his tail on his back. he is always itching. the vet said they cannot give allergy medicene cuz he is too young. so i have started wondering if it was the dog food, i wanted to get some other opinions because i have considered switching his food to orijen:nourish as nature intended. it is 70% premium fish, 30% fuits, vegies, and botanicals. and 0% grains and low carbohydrates. i need some other opinions please help!!

·
Registered
2,390 Posts
What are you currently feeding? How old is Duke? How much does he weigh? If the scabs and itching is mainly at the base of his tail, my first concern would be fleas - even if you can't see any, ONE bite can cause a dog with a flea allergy to react.

Allergies to food or environment usually manifest in the ears and the feet - licking/chewing feet, scratching at the ears.

·
Registered
3,832 Posts
I thought of fleas too. My adult male can't tolerate one flea. He got a few scabs around his tail. I put on Advantage and it went away in a few days. I don't know if younger dogs can handle that or any kind of topical flea killer. I used a natural spray a couple times on my puppy this summer. I can't find evidence of fleas on my adult but I am sure that's it and so far that is what it has been when it happens but luckily it only happened once this summer.

·
Registered
824 Posts
you can use Benedryl for the itching. you can give 1mg per pound, I think the capsules are 25mg.
I wouldn't think it was the food since it's been 5 months. My Duke got itchy after just a week or so on Orijen, then I switched him back to TOTW

·
Registered
3,832 Posts
I agree about the Benadryl. Benadryl is a drug I always have in the house.

·
Registered
361 Posts