Rottweilers Online Forums banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

We are beginning to look at adding another dog to our home. We currently have three senior dogs and I would like a puppy to train and help keep me in shape. I’m looking for a great temperament that I can work with in some sort of dog sport. I’m not interested in size, I’d prefer under or around 100lb honestly. I have some experience with obedience and protection already (no bite work)

We have a home in the Atlanta area with a 3/4 acre fenced in yard.

I would love to hear recommendations on breeders and sporting clubs around here if anyone has any insight.

Thanks!

·
Registered
17 Posts
A Rottweiler puppy is going to go after and play nonstop with your senior dogs. Day and night. Make sure your dogs can have the energy to withstand any play moves by the puppy. You can't just lock away the puppy all the time to keep him away from your seniors.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
A Rottweiler puppy is going to go after and play nonstop with your senior dogs. Day and night. Make sure your dogs can have the energy to withstand any play moves by the puppy. You can't just lock away the puppy all the time to keep him away from your seniors.
Ok. Thank you.

·
Registered
45 Posts
Your senior dogs will snap at it when they have had enough of him so that will solve the puppy problem. We once did the same thing and the old grump never got close to the new puppy.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Your senior dogs will snap at it when they have had enough of him so that will solve the puppy problem. We once did the same thing and the old grump never got close to the new puppy.
Yeah, I’m fully confident in my other dogs ability to handle a pup. I’m actually hoping for it.

·
Registered
16 Posts

This is an X-ray of a 2 week old puppy.